The Canton Audubon Society is pleased to offer scholarships to deserving college students, junior level and above, including graduate level. Students must reside in OR attend college in one of the following counties in Ohio: Ashland, Carroll, Columbiana, Coshocton, Guernsey, Harrison, Holmes, Medina, Muskingham, Portage, Stark, Summit, Tuscarawas or Wayne. For specific guidelines, forms and submission criteria, please click on the related PDF links below (Guidelines, Application, and Recommendation Form) to review and/or download further information.

As of September 2012, the Canton Audubon Scholarship has been changed to the Arnold W. Fritz Scholarship.  This name change is to honor the memory of Arnold Fritz, who passed away on August 14th, 2011.  Arnold was not only our organization’s founding president (1962-64), but also the founding president of The Wilderness Center in Wilmot. He retired as a biology teacher from Malone University in Canton (1961-1998).


In 2010, the CAS Board Members decided to offer a college scholarship to a qualified applicant as part of our programming and community outreach. The Scholarship Committee is made up of: Laura Dornan (Committee Chair), Joyce Stevens (Kuceyeski), Lee Dolan, Bob Rohrbaugh, and Rose Carter.


2022 – Sarah Romer from Newcomerstown, OH. A Junior at Ohio University in Athens

2021 – No winner awarded

2020 – James Feller from Clinton, OH. James is a PhD student at OSU

2019 – Anna Killian from Malone University with a double major in Zoology/Wildlife Biology and Conservation Studies and Alexander Kozak from Kent State University with a major in Environmental and Conservation Biology.

2018 – James Feller from Clinton, OH. James is a PhD student at OSU

2017 – Cali Granger from Homeworth, OH (Ohio State University, Ohio Agriculture & Research Development Center) and Elaine Souder from Louisville, OH (University of Akron School of Law)

2016 No winner awarded

2015 No winner awarded

2014 – Shelby Kaplan from Wooster, Ohio (Denison University)

2013 – Courtney Armsey from Clinton, Ohio (Malone University)

2012 – Anna Mudd from Fruita, Colorado (College of Wooster)

2011 – Kaitlyn Lowry from North Canton, Ohio (Hiram College)

2010 – Stephanie Jarvis from Shelbyville, Kentucky (Wooster College)


Scholarship Guidelines


Scholarship Application


Scholarship Recommendation

%d bloggers like this: